image/svg+xml

COVID-19 Policy Dashboard

State Local
Learn More
Jurisdiction State of Emergency Declaration Travel Restrictions Mass Gathering Restrictions School Closures Mask Mandates Vaccine Mandates
Alabama

Alabama is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19. Previously, Alabama ended a prior state of emergency declaration on July 6, 2021.

Under Alabama's "Safer at Home" order, issued May 11, 2020, non-work gatherings of all sizes are permitted if six feet of distance can be maintained between participants.

Alabama schools closed for the rest of year, instruction goes online

Alabama does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

In early March 2021, Gov. Ivey announced she will let the state's mask mandate expire on April 9, 2021. On April 7, she issued the Safer Apart Order, which officially lifts the mandate.

Alabama prohibits government entities from issuing standardized documentation for the purpose of certifying immunization status. Alabama makes exemptions for child immunization forms and “other applicable state law. Alabama prohibits people from being denied entry to businesses, universities, and state agencies if they have not been vaccinated for COVID-19.

Alaska

The state of emergency declaration expired on April 30, 2021. On May 1, 2021, Governor Dunleavy signed Alaska HB 76 into law, allowing the state to receive federal funding related to the pandemic through December 31, 2021. The Alaska Department of Health issued an order that gives the state eligibility for federal aid during an emergency.

Following the expiration of the state of emergency declaration on February 14, travelers coming in Alaska should be able to produce a negative test within 72 hours of arriving and be tested 5 to 14 days once in the state.

As of May 22, 2020, large gatherings are permitted in Alaska with strict social-distancing and hygiene practices.

This order extended the closure of all K-12 public schools through the end of the 2019-2020 school year.

Alaska does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

Following the expiration of the state of emergency declaration, it is recommended that individuals wear face coverings in public settings.

Arizona

Arizona is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and it will be in such a state until the Arizona Department of Health and the Governor of Arizona jointly determine otherwise.

Rescinded by EO 2020-36 on May 12. Under the original order, EO 2020-24, a mandatory 14 day self-quarantine for those who recently traveled to NY, NJ, or CT.

On March 25, 2021, Gov. Ducey issues EO 2021-06, which allows for events of over 50 people without government approval.

On March 15, 2021 (or the first Monday after a school's spring break) schools are ordered to return to in-person learning when possible via EO 2021-04. The counties are broken up into four categories, following CDC guidelines. The four categories are Low, Moderate, Substantial, and High Transmission. For the purposes of EO 2021-04, Low and Moderate are treated the same.

  • For counties with Low or Moderate Transmission, all schools will open with in-person and virtual options for instruction. Distancing required as much as possible.
  • For counties with Substantial Transmission, all schools will open with in-person and virtual options for instruction. Distancing required as much as possible. Middle and High Schools may reduce their attendance and increase distancing if necessary.
  • For counties with High Transmission, elementary schools will open with in-person and virtual options for instruction. Distancing required as much as possible. Middle and High Schools will remain open if they're already open, but otherwise may continue with virtual learning.

Arizona does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

On March 25, 2021, Gov. Ducey issued EO 2021, which lifted all mask mandates throughout Arizona.

Gov. Doug Ducey issued an executive order preventing state and local governments in Arizona from requiring Arizonans to provide their COVID-19 vaccination status to receive any public service or enter a government building.

Arkansas

Arkansas is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and Arkansas will be in such a state until September 25, 2021.

There is currently no quarantine requirement for travelers entering Arkansas based on the location they traveled from. This includes both domestic and international travel.

Effective February 26th, 2021, the Directive for Indoor Venues is now guidance and events are not required to submit plans to ADH for review. However, events are strongly encouraged to continue to follow the Guidelines to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

In Arkansas, all in-person K-12 education has ceased until the Governor issues notice indicating otherwise.

Arkansas does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

The mandate was lifted on March 31, 2021. Arkansas recommends that every person in Arkansas wear a face covering completely over the mouth and nose in all indoor environments, excluding private residences, where they are exposed to non-household members and distancing of six (6) feet or more cannot be assured and in all outdoor settings, excluding private residences, where there is exposure to non-household members, unless there exists ample space of six (6) feet or more to practice physical distancing.

Prohibits Arkansas state agencies or entities, or any political subdivisions of Arkansas, or any state or local official from requiring individuals to provide proof of COVID-19 vaccination status for any reason. Further, COVID-19 vaccination status may not be a condition for entry, travel, education, or any other service.

California

Gov. Newsom Declares State of Emergency to Help State Prepare for Broader Spread of COVID-19

Urges persons arriving in CA to quarantine for 14 days after arrival.

On August 18, 2021, the California Department of Public Health issued an order requiring proof of vaccination or a negative Covid-19 test for all indoor events with more than 1,000 people.

State Superintendent Tony Thurmond Issues Statement on 2019-20 School Year Amid Current School Safety Cooncerns.

On February 16, 2021 California launched an interactive map that provides a snapshot of school reopenings throughout the state.

California currently has a mask mandate in place for unvaccinated individuals.

On July 26, 2021, California announced that state employees and health care worker will be required to get the Covid-19 vaccine or get tested for Covid-19 on a regular basis. This policy goes into effect for state employees on August 2, 2021, and health care workers on August 9, 2021.

On June 15, 2021, California updated its mask mandate to be in-line with CDC guidance.

California requires that state employees and health care workers show proof of vaccination or get tested regularly. The new policy for state workers will take effect on August 2 and testing will be phased in over the next few weeks. The new policy for health care workers and congregate facilities will take effect on August 9, and health care facilities will have until August 23 to come into full compliance.

K-12 teachers and school employees must be fully vaccinated or get tested regularly for COVID-19.

Colorado

On July 8, 2021, Colorado rescinded its Covid-19 emergency executive order and instituted a Covid-19 Disaster Recovery Order. The Recovery order contains directives related to encouraging vaccinations, ensuring healthcare facilities can continue to treat Covid-19 patients, and maintaining access to federal funds.

On June 1, the Colorado Department of Public Health ended all restrictions on large indoor gatherings.

Executive Order extending school closures was enacted in March. Recent executive orders allow for the facilitation of learning pods and added flexibility for children learning remotely. The provision for learning pods was most recently extended on February 2, 2021 for 30 days by Executive Order 2021-033.

Colorado does not currently have a mask mandate in place, however, the Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment has required that face coverings be worn in homeless shelters, correctional facilities, and healthcare facilities.

On May 14, 2021, Governor Polis issued an Executive Order that removed the requirement for fully vaccinated individuals to wear face coverings. Individuals ages 11 and older are not fully vaccinated are encouraged to wear face coverings until they are fully vaccinated. This order was also echoed in a Colorado Department of Public Health order that was issued on May 31.

All state employees must be vaccinated against Covid-19 by September 20, 2021, or undergo twice-weekly testing.

All state contractors and state contractor workers must be fully vaccinated by October 31, 2021, and must provide proof of vaccination to enter state facilities. Individuals who are receiving a Covid-19 vaccine that requires two doses must receive the first dose by September 30, 2021.

Connecticut

Connecticut is currently in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19 and will be in such a state until February 15, 2022 when the Governor's Emergency Powers expire.

Anyone traveling into Connecticut from a state other than NY, NJ, or RI, that has a new daily positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average are recommended to self-quarantine for a 14-day period from the time of last contact within the identified state.

Currently, Connecticut's COVID-19 restrictions have been largely eliminated, but you're advised to stay at least 6 feet away from anyone, whether in a large group or not.

In Connecticut, there are currently minimal operating restrictions on K-12 schools, and schools are open for in-person education. All school-related sporting events, practices, and competitions are allowed.

Connecticut currently has a mask mandate in place for unvaccinated individuals.

In Connecticut, generally, any person in a public place in Connecticut, whether indoors or outdoors, who is not six feet from every other person must wear a face covering. Face coverings must also be worn while in public transportation or publicly available private transportation or within any semi-enclosed transit stop. Additionally, there are a number of exceptions to the class of persons generally required to wear a mask (those younger than 2 years old, et cetera).

Irrespective of the above, however, fully vaccinated individuals are not required to wear masks in most indoor public settings. Fully vaccinated individuals must wear masks while on public transportation, at places where medical care is offered, and at public transportation hubs (bus stations and airports).

Connecticut mandates that all nursing home workers, all state employees, and all teachers get vaccinated for COVID-19. The deadline for all staff in long-term care facilities to become vaccinated was Sept. 27, 2021, but was extended to Oct. 4, 2021.

Delaware

Delaware is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19 until October 8, 2021.

Any individual who enters Delaware from another state, and who is not merely passing through, must immediately self-quarantine for fourteen (14) days from the time of entry into Delaware or for the duration of the individual’s presence in Delaware, whichever period is shorter. This self-quarantine requirement shall not apply to public health, public safety, or healthcare workers, or any other individual providing assistance to an Essential Business or providing an emergency service related to COVID-19. This self-quarantine requirement shall not apply to individuals commuting into Delaware to work for a business deemed essential or otherwise open for business or to perform Minimum Business Operations as permitted by the Fifth Modification of the Declaration of a State of Emergency. Individuals traveling to Delaware to work for a business deemed essential or otherwise open for business but who could otherwise work from home, are strongly encouraged to work from home.

Currently, indoor gatherings are limited to 25 people or 50% of a building's capacity, whichever is lower. Outdoor public gatherings are limited to 150 people. Outdoor gatherings larger than 150 people require approval from the Division of Public Health.

Religious and political gatherings are limited to the lesser of 30% of a venue’s capacity or 50 people.

In a letter to school leaders, educators and parents on Tuesday, Governor John Carney, the Delaware Division of Public Health (DPH) and the Delaware Department of Education (DOE) urged Delaware schools to return to hybrid instruction – a mix of remote and in-person learning – on Monday, January 11. Governor Carney signed Tuesday’s letter with Dr. Karyl Rattay, the Director of Public Health, and Dr. Susan Bunting, the Secretary of Education. The letter urges schools to return to full hybrid instruction on Monday and to prioritize younger and more vulnerable students for in-person learning if operational challenges continue.

Delaware does not currently have a mask mandate in place; however, masks are required in indoor settings at public and private schools.

On August 12, 2021, Gov. Carney mandated that, by September 30, 2021, all long-term care facility staff, all other healthcare facilities staff, teachers, staff, contractors, and volunteers and all other Delaware state employees must either provide proof of vaccination or undergo regular testing to prevent the transmission of COVID-19.

Florida

Florida is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

All restrictions on travelers were lifted by E.O. 192.

Currently, there are no restrictions on crowd size or mass gathering limitations under Phase 3, beginning Sept. 25, 2020.

All schools to remain open for in-person instruction for the duration of the 2020-21 school year, and school districts required to offer full panoply of services. Parents authorized to choose virtual learning options for children.

Florida does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

Under Phase 3, mask requirements are rescinded as of September 25, 2020.

Florida prohibits governmental agencies, government employees, and all political subdivisions from mandating the use of face coverings and from mandating a show of vaccination against COVID-19 (also known as "vaccine passports"). The bill that instituted these requirements, SB 2006, is currently being litigated in the Florida court system.

Georgia

Georgia's state of emergency was initially declared on March 14, 2020 (Executive Order 03.14.20.01) and has been renewed every 30 days since, most recently by Executive Order 01.29.21.01.

Travel guidelines.

Effective April 8, 2021, there is no longer a ban on gatherings, after the signing of EO 03.31.21.03.

Closing public elementary and secondary schools through the end of the 2019-2020 school year to stop the spread of COVID-19

Georiga does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

Georgia prohibits county or local governments from forcing private organizations, including businesses and sports teams, to comply with COVID-19 health restrictions.

Hawaii

Hawaii is currently in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19 until November 30, 2021.

Currently, there is no mandatory 10-day quarantine period for travelers entering Hawaii from another state, nor for those traveling between counties in Hawaii; however, there is a mandatory quarantine for international travelers.

In Hawaii, social gatherings are limited to no more than 10 people indoors and 25 people outdoors.

Return to Learn: School Reopening Plan is the Department's specific response to the impact of the COVID-19 health pandemic on our schools. It articulates the scope of work required to respond to health and safety issues while implementing the Hawaiʻi State Board of Education's call to action for our school communities to give hope, act with kindness and work toward togetherness in preparing to reopen schools. The Hawai‘i Department of Health also issued a comprehensive, 28-page guidance document for all schools to ensure the education of Hawaiʻi’s youth during the pandemic continues with minimal disruption and risk to students, teachers and staff.

Hawaii currently has a mask mandate in place at indoor public areas for all individuals regardless of vaccination status.

All Hawaii state employees (state and county) are required to show proof that they are vaccinated against COVID-19 by August 16 or undergo weekly testing.

Idaho

Idaho is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Idaho has no COVID-19 travel restrictions in place.

In Idaho, there is no statewide prohibition on gatherings of any size, nor is there a statewide, state-instituted suggestion for gatherings size.

K-12 schools in Idaho may re-open and operate various school-adjacent extracurricular activities.

Idaho does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

Gov. Brad Little signed an executive order prohibiting any State of Idaho governmental entity from requiring proof of COVID-19 vaccination for citizens to recieve public services or access governmental facilities.

Illinois

Illinois is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and Illinois will be in such a state until September 19, 2021.

Illinois does not restrict the travel of persons within the State (or those outside it). Nevertheless, Illinois has issued travel safety guidance that makes a number of recommendations to those persons who choose to travel during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Further, it appears that Illinois travel restrictions set forth in Executive Order 2020-32 are no longer applicable (as superseded by Executive Order 2020-38). Executive order 2020-38 notes that "[n]othing in this Executive Order shall be construed as an exercise of any authority to order any quarantine, isolation, or closure. "

In Illinois, in Phase 5, there are no restrictions on mass gatherings.

Through February 6, 2021, all public and nonpublic schools in Illinois serving pre-kindergarten through 12th grade students may open for in-person learning after the regular 2019-2020 school term. All schools must follow IDPH and ISBE health guidelines, including but not limited to: using PPE, temperature checks, hygienic practices, social distancing, and limiting people to 50 or fewer in one space.

Illinois currently has a mask mandate in place for both vaccinated unvaccinated individuals when those individuals are indoors.

Illinois implements a coronavirus vaccine or regular testing requirement for public and private pre-K through 12 teachers and staff, higher education teachers and staff, students in higher education, and healthcare workers. The deadline for all healthcare workers, teachers, and school staff to have had their first dose of a COVID-19 vaccine is September 19, 2021.

Indiana

Indiana is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19 and will be in such a state until October 31, 2021.

Indiana has instituted no travel restrictions. However, Indiana does recommend that persons whom have traveled internationally before arriving in Indiana self-quarantine for 14 days.

In Indiana, there are a number of restrictions on large venues, social gatherings, and events based on the color-code of the county:

  • Red counties (0 of 92) may allow no more than 25 individuals per gathering;

  • Orange counties (0 of 92) may allow no more than 50 individuals per gathering;

  • Yellow counties (41 of 92) may allow no more than 100 individuals per gathering; and,

  • Blue counties (51 of 92) may allow no more than 250 individuals per gathering.

In Indiana, all K-12 schools may operate in-person instruction. All persons in K-12 schools must wear face coverings while on school grounds or in school-sponsored modes of transportation. All extracurricular activities must adhere to gathering restrictions based on the color-code of the county in which the extracurricular activity is located:

  • Red counties (4 of 92) may allow no more than 25 individuals per activity;

  • Orange counties (59 of 92) may allow no more than 50 individuals per activity;

  • Yellow counties (29 of 92) may allow no more than 100 individuals per activity; and,

  • Blue counties (0 of 92) may allow no more than 250 individuals per activity.

Indiana does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

Mask mandate becomes merely advisory on April 6, 2021

Indiana prohibits the state government, any of its subdivisions, and any local governments (and any subdivisions thereof) from issuing or requiring proof of COVID-19 vaccination to use governmental services or facilities.

Iowa

Iowa is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and it shall be in such a state until October 17, 2021. The disaster emergency was renewed for an additional 30 days on September 17,2021.

Recomended only: Urged Iowans returning from out-of-state to self-quarantine for 14-days.

Currently, there are no limits on gathering sizes in Iowa if proper social distancing measures are in place.

1/29/21: Gov. Kim Reynolds signed S.F. 160, giving Iowa parents the option to send their kids back to school full time. 7/24 Proclimation continues to permit schools to operate primarily by remote-learning in the fall only in certain circumstances. Proclimation 7/17 directs all state agencies, school districts, and local governments to focus on preparing to safely welcome back students and teachers to school in-person in the fall. It also provides clarity for when a school may move to primarily remote learningIowa schools closed through end of academic year as of 4/17/20.

Iowa does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

Additionally, on May 20, 2021, Iowa enacted a law prohibiting public schools, cities, and counties from issuing mask mandates.

On Feb. 7, 2021, a Proclamation of Disaster Emergency lifted the statewide mask mandate, which had been in place since Nov. 2020. The now lifted mandate had required Iowans to wear masks when people are in an indoor public space and unable to socially distance for 15 minutes or longer. Businesses are still encouraged to follow CDC guidelines for distancing and sanitation.

However, as of September 9, 2021, a federal judge ordered the State of Iowa to allow individual schools to mandate masks.

On May 20, 2021, Governor Reynolds signed HF 889 into law which prohibits the use of vaccine passports. The new law also prohibits the mandatory disclosure of whether a person has been vaccinated against Covid-19.

Kansas

Kansas is not in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Generally, Kansas recommends a 14-day quarantine for anyone that has traveled to or attended certain locations and events. Those who have traveled to the following locations need to quarantine upon arrival in Kansas. The length of quarantine varies depending on whether you have been tested for COVID-19. This applies to both Kansas residents and those visiting Kansas:

  • Traveled on or after April 8 to Connecticut or Pennsylvania.
  • Traveled on or after April 8 to Andorra, Bermuda, Curacao, Poland, Siberia, or Uruguay.
  • Traveled on or after March 26 to Delaware, Michigan, or Rhode Island.
  • Traveled on or after March 26 to Hungary or Jordan.
  • Traveled between Feb. 26 to April 8 to the countries of Mayotte, Czechia, San Marino, Montenegro or Seychelles.
  • Traveled to New York or New Jersey on or after March 12.
  • Traveled to Estonia or Palestine on or after March 12.
  • Attended/traveled to mass gathering events out-of-state of 500 people or greater where individuals do not socially distance (6 feet) and wear masks..
  • Been on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15, 2020. Others needing to continue quarantining:
  • Received notification from public health officials (state or local) that you are a close contact of a laboratory-confirmed case of COVID-19.

Further, vaccinated persons are not required to quarantine regarding travel if they meet all of the following criteria:

  • Are fully vaccinated (i.e., ≥2 weeks following receipt of the second dose in a 2-dose series, or ≥2 weeks following receipt of one dose of a single-dose vaccine)
  • Are within 6 months following receipt of the last dose in the series
  • Have remained asymptomatic since the travel

Persons who do not meet all 3 of the above criteria should continue to follow current quarantine guidance for travel.

Currently, there are no statewide mass gathering restrictions in Kansas.

Currently, there are no mandates from Kansas prohibiting the re-opening of schools.

Kansas does not currently have a mask mandate in place.

As such, any person in Kansas must wear a face covering: inside, or in line to enter, any indoor public space; when obtaining services from the healthcare sector; while waiting for a ride on or riding in public transportation or a private transportation service open to the general public; or, when outside where social distancing is not practicable.

Kansas prohibits governmental agencies, buildings, or political subdivisions from requiring proof of vaccination against COVID-19.

Kentucky

Kentucky has declared a State of Emergency due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In so doing, this order deploys the National Guard, and directs a number of executive agencies to re-direct their resources and manpower to fighting the COVID-19 pandemic. Kentucky's State of Emergency due to COVID-19 is effective until January 15, 2022.

As of May 22, 2020, there are no travel restrictions on residents of Kentucky or out-of-state residents.

Kentucky has no mass gatherings restrictions in place. Per a United States District Court's ruling, Kentucky's previous mass gatherings restrictions were unconstitutional. The constitutionality of Kentucky's gathering restrictions is currently on appeal in the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Gov. Beshear signed HB 208, requiring public schools to offer at least two days of in-person instruction each week starting March 29. The bill passed 28-8 in the state Senate on March 3, and the House approved the Senate’s version 81-15 on March 4. Parents can still keep their children in fully remote learning.

Beginning March 1, 2021, all school districts in Kentucky are encouraged to provide some form of in-person instruction. Kentucky has provided guidance for those schools that remain with exclusively online instruction and provided guidance in the instance those schools choose to provide in-person education. First, all public schools must comply with the Kentucky Department of Education's "Guidance on Safety Expectations and Best Practices for Kentucky Schools." Second, all schools in Red Zones should delay in-person instruction until further notice. Third, all schools should follow the COVID-19 Mode of Instruction Metrics for K-12 education. Fourth, meaningful virtual alternatives to school must be made available. Fifth, all schools in Orange or Red Zone Counties that have in-person instruction must accommodate high-risk employees until final doses of the COVID-19 vaccine are available. Finally, as of March 2, 2021, all large indoor educational venues may operate at up to 60% capacity.

Kentucky does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Louisiana

Phase 2 of LA's emergency order implements a stay-at-home order for high risk individuals. It limits nonessential businesses: prohibiting amusement parks and playcenters, significantly restricting indoor bar operations, and requiring most businesses and venues to operate at no more than 25% capacity.

Effective January 13, 2021, Phase 2 was extended until February 10.

Most recently extended on April 28, 2021 until May 26

None

Currently, crowd sizes shall be limited to no more than a maximum of 500 people in any single indoor space at the same time. Crowd sizes are limited to no more than 50% capacity as set by the State Fire Marshal any single outdoor space where individuals will be in close proximity to one another and unable to maintain strict social distancing of six feet apart from individuals who are not immediate household members. This crowd size limitation shall not apply to those businesses deemed essential as defined by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, or religious services held by churches and other faith-based organizations. All fairs and festivals shall submit a plan for approval to the State Fire Marshal.

Plan for reopening schools in fall 2020. Includes health guidelines and best practices for operation of schools.

Louisiana has a statewide mask mandate in effect for all indoor settings, effective until October 28, 2021. Louisiana's mask mandate applies equally to vaccinated and unvaccinated persons.

Although masks are no longer required by the state, government agencies as well as schools and hospitals may still create their own internal mandates.

Maine

Governor Mills declared a state of emergency on March 15, 2020. It has been renewed multiple times and expired on June 30, 2021.

As of May 1, 2021, Maine moved to an "all states exempt unless specified" model. This means that travelers coming to or returning to Maine are not required to quarantine or show proof of a negative test unless coming from a non-exempt state.

Starting May 24, indoor and outdoor gatherings will be limited to 100 percent.

Governor Mills recommended schools close under the Proclamation of Civil Emergency issued March 15. Governor Mills' Stay at Home Order (EO 28) required schools to close. EO 49 extended this order through 5/31.

Maine does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

As of May 24, Mainers are no longer required to wear a mask most public settings. Masks are still required at schools and childcare settings.

Health care workers are required to be vaccinated by October 29.

Maryland

Maryland is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

The Maryland Department of Health currently has no travel restriction in place.

There are currently no mandatory mass gathering restrictions in Maryland. However, the Maryland Department of Health recommends that all Marylanders should refrain from attending either public or private indoor gatherings of more than 10 individuals at one location and should practice physical distancing to the extent possible.

Currently, Maryland schools and nonpublic schools are encouraged to re-open for in-person learning. Because the State Department of Education is taking a phased, system-specific approach to re-opening schools, many school systems are open for in-person learning while many are not.

On Jan. 21, 2021, Gov. Hogan said school districts that don’t reopen to in-person instruction by March 1 could face legal action. Hogan did not specify in what form that legal action could take but said he would explore his options.

Maryland does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Nevertheless, Maryland requires all persons to wear face coverings in schools, hospitals, and open public transportation. In September 2021, a legislative panel voted to require all teachers, staff, and students in public schools to wear face coverings.

Maryland requires nursing home staff and healthcare workers to get a COVID-19 vaccine or submit to weekly COVID-19 testing, beginning Sept. 1, 2021.

Massachusetts

Currently, Massachusetts is not in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Effective 11/28, every state but Hawaii is considered high risk for travel. Effective Saturday, 11/14, Massachusetts is requiring that people arriving in the state from New York and Washington State, as well as the nation's capitol, stay in quarantine. Under Massachusetts' travel order, these areas join all but four states across the nation considered to be a higher risk for travel. Effective Aug. 1 requiring all visitors and residents returning to the state from high-risk areas, including students, to quarantine for 14 days or produce a recent negative COVID-19 test result. The fine for violating the order is $500 a day. Beginning July 1, 2020 all travelers arriving to Massachusetts – including Massachusetts residents returning home – are instructed to self-quarantine for 14 days, except that, travelers from Rhode Island, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, New York, and New Jersey arriving in Massachusetts are exempt from this directive and need not self-quarantine for 14 days. In addition, workers designated by the federal government as essential critical infrastructure workers are exempt from the directive to self-quarantine for 14 days if traveling to Massachusetts for work purposes. All persons are instructed not to travel to Massachusetts if they are displaying symptoms of COVID-19.

Starting May 29, there are no capacity restrictions for indoor and outdoor gatherings.

School Closure Order through end of the 2020 school year.

On Jan. 8, Gov. Baker announced a pooled testing initiative that will begin next month for school districts providing in-person and hybrid learning. The initiative will involve analyzing batches of COVID-19 test samples from individual schools on a weekly basis. If COVID-19 is not detected in the batch, then everyone in the school is presumed to be negative for the virus.

June 25, 2020: Require districts and schools to prepare a reopening plans for 2021. See individual district plans here: https://www.doe.mass.edu/covid19/district-reopening-models.xlsx

Massachusetts does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Starting May 29, 2021, there is no statewide mask mandate.

Michigan

Currently, Michigan is not under a state of emergency. The declaration of state of emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic (EO 2020-186) was rescinded by the Michigan Supreme Court on October 2, 2020.

NONE – previously a ban on intra-state travel to vacation residences, which has been lifted.

Currently, there are no longer any capacity limits for indoor and outdoor residential gatherings.

As of November 18, gatherings at public, nonpublic, and boarding schools for the purpose of conducting in-person instruction, sports, and extracurricular activities serving pupils in grades 9 through 12 are prohibited, except for in-person instruction of pupils who are English Language Learners or participants in special education services. Suspension of in-person K-12 instruction for the remainder of 2019-2020 school year. Originally closed under EO 2020-5 temporarily and for the entire school year by EO 2020-35, which was replaced by 2020 EO 65. EO 2020-65 was rescended as of 10/13/20.

Michigan does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Emergency Order Under MCL 333.2253 required people to wear face coverings when participating in gatherings. It will also require employers to provide at least cloth face coverings to their employees. As of May 6, masks are not required for outdoor gatherings up to 100 people. As of May 15, 2021, fully vaccinated people do not have to wear masks indoors.

Minnesota

On July 1, 2021, Minnesota ended its Peacetime Emergency.

EO 20-103 deletes the recommended 14 day quarantine provision, and replaces it by encouraging persons arriving in Minnesota from other states or countries, including returning Minnesota residents to follow the recommendations in MDH’s Quarantine Guidance.

EO 20-99 recommends quarantining for 14 days when arriving in the state.

On May 28, Minnesota lifted all Covid-19 restrictions in accordance with CDC guidance.

On January 18, 2021, Minnesota released guidance for the 2020-2021 school year detailing the transition from remote to in-person learning.

On February 17, 2021, an updated version of the plan was released that stated public middle and high schools will be able to choose between hybrid or in-person learning starting on February 22 provided they can implement certain mitigation strategies.

On March 15, EO 21-11 allows institutions of higher education to resume offering in-person classes.

Minnesota does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On May 14, Governor Walz issued Executive Order 21-23 which removed the requirement the statewide mask requirement, however, individuals who have not yet been fully vaccinated are encouraged to wear face coverings until they are fully vaccinated. The mask mandate remains in place for schools remains in place in accordance with the Safe Learning Plan through the end of the 2020-2021 school year or until June 13, 2021 for schools that operate year round.

State employees must be fully vaccinated against Covid-19 by September 8, 2021, or undergo weekly testing.

Mississippi

On September 10, 2021, Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves announced he would extend the Covid-19 state of emergency for an additional 30 days.

All Travel May Resume on 06/01. CDC guidelines followed while minimizing non essential travel. Extends Safe Return Order until July 20.

Effective April 30 all mass gathering restrictions are lifted.

Schools may reopen to offer summer school activities, special ed programs, individual tutoring, etc. Extends Safe Return order until July 20.

Mississippi does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place. However, the Mississippi Department of Health recommends all individuals wear masks indoors regardless of their vaccination status.

Masks are not required effective March 3, 2021, however residents are encouraged to wear face coverings and take other COVID-19 mitigation measures.

Mississippi does not currently have a vaccine mandate in place, however, the Mississippi Department of Health recommends that all eligible individuals get vaccinated against Covid-19.

Missouri

Currently, Missouri has no travel restrictions in place.

Currently, Missouri has no mass gathering restrictions in place.

Currently, there are no statewide school closures in Missouri due to COVID-19.

Missouri does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Missouri prohibits local, publicly funded entities from requiring a vaccine passport in order for residents to use public services. Political subdivisions of Missouri may only issue public health orders that directly or indirectly restrict access to businesses, churches, schools, or other places of assembly for 30 calendars days in a 180-day period when the governor has declared a state of emergency, or 21 days when the governor has not declared a state of emergency.

Montana

As of June 30, Montana is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Montana has no traveling restrictions in place.

Montana has no mandatory restrictions in place for mass gatherings. However, Montana does recommend that "public gatherings or events [be] managed in a way that accommodates CDC social distancing guidelines."

There are no sector-specific requirements on the operation of schools in Montana.

Montana does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place..

Previously, a stateside mask mandate was in place from July 2020 until Feb. 12, 2021.

Gov. Gianforte issued an executive order prohibiting the state-sponsored development and required use of vaccine passports, indicators of COVID-19 vaccination status to access various services and facilities (governmental or private).

Nebraska

Nebraska is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Although there are no general Nebraska-wide prohibitions on travel for the general public, all executive branch state agencies are to suspend all out-of-state travel until the end of Nebraska's state of emergency. Department of Health and Human Services recommends self-quarantine of 14 days for those entering the state

Currently, in the Green phase, gatherings (any event that brings together more than 10 people) at outdoor or indoor events can resume at full capacity. Social distancing is recommended but not required.

Currently, there are no required closures for K-12 schools in Nebraska. All K-12 schools may open for in-person instruction. Although all Nebraska K-12 schools were directed to close through May 31, 2020, Nebraska has launched a "Return to Schools Roadmap." (https://www.launchne.com/) That roadmap provides a number of procedures public school systems in Nebraska should follow to re-open schools on a community-by-community basis.

Nebraska never issued a state-wide mask mandate. Masks are recommended, rather than required, for establishments such as childcare centers, salons, barber shops, massage therapists, and body art studios.

Nevada

Governor Sisolak Declares State of Emergency in Response to COVID-19

Governor Sisolak adjusts travel advisory for Nevada as the State enters Phase 2

On September 2, Governor Sisolak issued an order that allows large events and conventions with more than 4,000 people to be held without masks if all attendees are fully vaccinated.

On August 16, Governor Sisolak issued an executive order that requires large event organizers to hold events without face coverings in counties where face coverings are required if they implement a system to accurately verify individuals who are fully vaccinated.

On May 1 counties began implementing their own mitigation measures. 11 of 16 counties do not have any restrictions on private gatherings, 4 of 16 counties are following CDC and state guidance for private gatherings, and 1 of 16 counties is allowing private gatherings of up 10 people indoors and 25 people outdoors.

On February 18, 2021, Governor Sisolak announced that schools may begin increasing their occupancy to 75% or 250 people with social distancing and mask requirements in place for schools that are engaging in in-person learning; student capacity on school buses can increase to 66% with social distancing and mask requirements; and that full-contact high school sports regulated by the Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association can resume practices and games.

Beginning May 1, the state will no longer require mitigation measures in school such as social distancing and hygiene considerations. However, counties, school districts, and charter schools may adopt their own mitigation measures as part of their Covid-19 mitigation plans.

On July 27, 2021, Governor Sisolak issued Emergency Directive 047 which requires Nevadans to follow CDC guidance for face coverings. Currently, CDC guidance encourages fully vaccinated individuals to wear a face covering in areas with substantial or high transmission of Covid-19. For the week of September 10-16, all counties have high or substantial Covid-19 transmission.

Emergency Directive 047 goes into effect on July 30, 2021.

Beginning August 15, 2021, state employees must be fully vaccinated against Covid-19. State employees who are not fully vaccinated must undergo weekly Covid-19 tests and submit proof of a negative tests to their human resources officer or department supervisor.

Beginning November 1, 2021, state employees who work in healthcare settings or state facilities (ex. prisons) must provide proof of vaccination against Covid-19.

New Hampshire

Currently, New Hampshire is no longer under a State of Emergency. The last emergency declaration extension expired on June 11, 2021.

The two week self-quarantine has been lifted for those traveling to New Hampshire from surrounding New England States (Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island). Those traveling to New Hampshire from non-New England states for an extended period of time are still asked to self-quarantine for a two-week period. All visitors and travelers need to fill out the travel guidance form. (In effect 11/15/20-1/15/21)

Since Emergency Order #16 expired on June 15, 2020, there has been no capacity limits for gatherings in New Hampshire.

Effective March 8, 2021, schools in New Hampshire will be required to offer at least two days per week of in-person instruction per Emergency Order #85. A school may continue to use distance learning if necessary to avoid COVID-19 infections (the state must approve this).

New Hampshire does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Gov. Sununu announced that the mask mandate has been lifted effective April 16, 2021.

Prohibits local governments from mandating vaccines for its employees.

New Jersey

Currently, New Jersey is not in a state of emergency due to COVID-19. Gov. Murphy signed legislation ending the state of emergency due to COVID-19 on June 4, 2021.

New Jersey, beginning May 18, 2021, has no pandemic-related travel restrictions nor does it have any pandemic-related quarantine requirements.

Currently, there is no capacity limit for indoor or outdoor gatherings.

Currently, K-12 schools in New Jersey may re-open provided they obtain to social distancing and hygiene-related restrictions.

New Jersey does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

As of July 7, 2021, all mask-mandate-related orders expired.

New Jersey mandates that all public school teachers and all other state employees get vaccinated for COVID-19. On August 6, 2021, Gov. Phil Murphy mandated that workers in public and private healthcare facilities and high-risk congregate settings to be fully vaccinated or undergo testing at least once or twice per week starting September 7, 2021. Further, on August 23, 2021, Gov. Phil Murphy mandated that all state employees, and employees of public, private, parochial schools, in the state must be fully vaccinated by October 18, 2021 or be tested once or twice a week. Finally, on September 20, 2021, Gov. Murphy mandated that all childcare facility employees be fully vaccinated or submit to weekly COVID tests by November 1, 2021.

On Oct. 20, 2021, Governor Phil Murphy signed Executive Order No. 271, which requires new and potential state contractors to demonstrate that all of their employees who enter, work at, or provide services in any state agency location are fully vaccinated or otherwise undergo weekly testing. The order is effective immediately.

New Mexico

Public Health Emergency Declared 3/11/2020. (Extended Until at least August 16 with Executive Order 2021-04.)

Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham on March 27 issued an executive order requiring air travelers to New Mexico to self-isolate for at least 14 days to help combat the spread of COVID-19. On 7/1 she issued Executive Order 20-54 directing all persons except for various workers including healthcare, emergency workers, military, and federal employees to self-quarantine for 14 days regardless of how they came into the state. On 9/16 She issued Executive Order 20-72 which got rid of the ability for people to have a negative COVID-19 test within 3 days of coming into the state instead of self-quarantining for 14 days.

On July 1, 2021, New Mexico ended its county-by-county color coded reopening plan and removed all Covid-19 restrictions.

Schools closed for the rest of the academic year

Beginning August 20, 2021, individuals over the age of 2 are required to wear masks indoors regardless of vaccination status.

New Mexico requires all workers in healthcare and congregate care facilities to be fully vaccinated against Covid-19. Additionally, all employees fo the Office of the Governor must be fully vaccinated against Covid-19. Individuals can be exempted from the requirement to be fully vaccinated if they have a qualifying medical condition, disability, or a sincerely held religious belief. Individuals who are not vaccinated due to an exemption must be tested for Covid-19 on a weekly basis and wear a face covering indoors at all times.

New York

New York is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

In New York, domestic travelers are no longer required to quarantine or test out within 90 days of full vaccination. Generally, however, travelers must be tested for COVID-19 within three days prior to landing in New York, quarantine for at least three days upon arrival, and get a test on day four of arrival. If travelers receive a negative test on day four of quarantine they may exit quarantine when they receive negative result. States that are contiguous with New York continue to be exempted from quarantine protocol — essential workers also continue to be exempted. Travelers who were only out of state for less than 24 hours do not need to quarantine but must get a test on day four of arrival back in NY. All travelers covered by the advisory must continue to fill out traveler health form upon arrival into New York State

New York has lifted several restrictions on gatherings in many areas in New York State. Specifically, those areas no longer under so-called yellow zone restriction include portions of central and western New York and the southern border. Yellow zones remain in two areas of the Bronx, one in Queens, one in Manhattan’s Washington Heights and one in Newburgh on the Hudson River, Cuomo said. In those spots, nonresidential gatherings are restricted to 500 people, residential gatherings are limited to 50, houses of worship can operate at 50% capacity and indoor and outdoor dining are restricted.

New York's Department of Health has had the authority to impose specific health restrictions based upon clusters of COVID-19 cases in an area. Yet, generally, nonresidential-social gatherings can take place with a maximum of 250 people, while indoors residential gatherings are limited to 50 people, and outdoors residential gatherings may reach up to 500 attendees.

Commercial social events can exceed the 500-person outdoor and 250-person indoor limits if everyone has proof of vaccination or a recent negative test and social distancing is possible. The state lifts its mask mandate for vaccinated people, aligning with CDC guidance.

Intial Executive Order directed schools to remain closed from March 18 through April 1. Governor Cuomo announced in May that schools are to remain closed for the remainder of the academic year. No In-Class Teaching for Summer School. E.O. issued on June 5 permits in-person special education services and instruction required under Federal, state or local laws, rules, or regulations for the summer term by school districts through July 5th. A decision on reopening will be made in the first week of August. On July 13 Cuomo announced that NY will allow schools to reopen in Phase 4 regions with a COVID-19 infection rate of 5% or lower (14-day average) as of August 1. On August 7, Governor Cuomo announced that school districts are authorized to open. There is a Friday deadline (8/14) for school districts that have not submitted plans for in-person learning. E.O. 202.60 authorizes schools statewide to be open for instruction, effective September 1, 2020, subject to adherence to Department of Health issued guidance and directives. On 10/6 Cuomo directed schools in hot spot zip codes identified by NYC to temporarily close in-person learning. E.O. 202.68 implements school operating mandates (required closings) based on severity of COVID outbreaks in specific zip codes.

New York currently has a mask mandate in place for unvaccinated individuals.

Any individual who over age two and able to medically tolerate a face-covering shall be required to cover their nose and mouth with a mask or cloth face-covering when in a public place and unable to maintain, or when not maintaining, social distance. Business owners may turn away potential customers for not wearing a face covering.

Further, in accordance with CDC guidelines, New York no longer requires people who are fully vaccinated to wear masks indoors or outdoors even when social distancing is impracticable.

New York requires all healthcare workers in New York State, including staff at hospitals and long-term care facilities (LTCF), including nursing homes, adult care, and other congregate care settings, to be vaccinated against COVID-19 by Monday, September 27.

North Carolina

North Carolina is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and it will be in such a state until otherwise ordered by the Governor.

People traveling to North Carolina from another state are not required to quarantine upon arrival.

On May 14, Governor Cooper issued Executive Order 215 which lifted all occupancy and social distancing requirements.

Beginning Oct. 5, school districts may choose to implement Plan A of the Strong Schools NC Public Health Toolkit, which would allow for in-person instruction for grades K-5 in public and charter schools. Face coverings remain required for all K-12 students, fewer children in classrooms, social distancing for everyone in the building, and other safety protocols. School districts retain option for online only instruction.

North Carolina does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On July 29, 2021, Governor Cooper issued an executive order that encouraged all private businesses to follow current CDC guidance recommending that face coverings be worn by all individuals, including those who are fully vaccinated. The executive order also requires employees working at cabinet agencies to wear face coverings, regardless of vaccination status, beginning August 2, 2021, and requires all employees at cabinet agencies to be fully vaccinated or receive weekly Covid-19 testing.

Beginning September 1, 2021, all Cabinet Agency workers must be vaccinated against Covid-19 or undergo weekly testing.

North Dakota

North Dakota is not in a State of Emergency Due to COVID-19.

North Dakota has no travel restrictions for residents, citizens of other U.S. states, or citizens of international origin. Previously, there was a 14-quarantine requirement for those persons traveling into North Dakota; however, that requirement was lifted in September 2020.

There is no blanket ban on mass gatherings in North Dakota. However, there are a number of restrictions on events in banquet halls, ballrooms, and other large event venues. Gatherings cannot exceed 50% of a venue's maximum occupancy and must also abide by new capacity restrictions that have been tiered according to the size of the facility. Further, many social distancing and hygiene-related guidelines apply.

Public and non-public schools may offer on-site programs provided they adhere to Smart Restart guidelines.

North Dakota does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Previously North Dakota required face coverings to be used by all employees and patrons inside indoor businesses and indoor public settings, as well as in outdoor business and public settings when it’s not possible to maintain physical distancing.

In North Dakota, no government agency or business can require a customer to provide proof of vaccination. However, higher education facilities and airports are exempt from the bill.

Ohio

Ohio is current in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and it shall be in such a state until the Governor orders otherwise.

July 22: Gov. Mike DeWine issued a travel advisory for all individuals who come into Oho from states with a Covid-19 positivity rate of 15% or higher. The state is recommending that those individuals self-quarantine at a hotel or at home for 14 days.

Ohio Department of Health Director Stephanie McCloud has ordered Ohioans to stay home between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m., except for work or necessary food, medical care, or social services. The curfew extends through Jan. 23, 2021. This curfew is intended to reduce COVID-19 spread, keep Ohioans safe, minimize the risk of major limitations or economic shutdowns, and reduce the impact on the healthcare and hospital system.

April 2021 consolidated order says "individuals must avoid gathering in groups and attempt at all times to maintain social distancing. When gathered together, individuals should be in groups of no more than ten individuals that is separated from other groups by at least six feet."

Currently, there are no statewide school closings in Ohio.

Ohio does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

In Ohio, as of June 2, 2021, there is no statewide mask mandate in effect.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma ended its state of emergency declaration on May 4, 2021.

All people entering the state are directed to follow CDC travel guidelines.

In March 2021, Gov. Stitt announced he is lifting all gathering restrictions in Oklahoma.

On March 25 the State Board approved remote learning for the remainder of the school year.

On Jan. 12, 2021, Gov. Stitt announced that schools enforcing social distancing and mask-wearing will not have to quarantine students who were potentially exposed to the virus but are not showing symptoms. The new policy does not apply to students who were potentially exposed during after-school activities, including sports. Previously, schools were required to enforce a two-week quarantine for students potentially exposed to COVID-19, whether or not they exhibited symptoms.

Oklahoma does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On March 11, 2021, Gov. Stitt announced he will be lifting the requirement to wear masks in state buildings.

Oregon

Latest executive order extends Executive Order 20-03 and COVID-19 State of Emergency until December 31, 2021.

Governor Kate Brown, California Governor Gavin Newsom, and Washington Governor Jay Inslee issued travel advisories today urging visitors entering their states or returning home from travel outside these states to self-quarantine to slow the spread of the virus.

Starting June 30, 2021, there are no longer any mass gathering restrictions. Under EO No. 21-15, the county-by-county metrics-based approach has also ended.

EO 21-06 orders public schools to offer full on-site or hybrid in-person instruction.

Effective August 13, 2021, Oregon is under a statewide indoor mask mandate for both unvaccinated and vaccinated individuals.

Effective August 27, masks will be required in most public outdoor settings, including large outdoor events, where physical distancing is not possible, and regardless of vaccination status.

Governor Brown announced that all executive branch employees, teachers, educators, support staff, health care workers, and volunteers in K-12 schools will be required to be fully vaccinated on or before October 18, or six weeks after a COVID-19 vaccine receives full approval from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, whichever is later.

Pennsylvania

On March 6, Governor Wolf signed an emergency disaster declaration to provide increased support to state agencies involved in the response to the virus. On May 20, 2021, Governor Wolf renewed the disaster declaration for a fifth time. On June 10th, following the approval of two ballot measures in May, the Pennsylvania legislature passed a resolution to end the state's emergency declaration. However, the end of the emergency declaration does not limit the Health Secretary's authority to require masks.

Effective March 1, all travel restrictions have been lifted.

Previously, anyone over the age of 11 who visits from another state to provide evidence of a negative COVID-19 test or place themselves in a travel quarantine for 10 days upon entering Pennsylvania.

The state "advises against" household gatherings when attendees include non-household members, but it is not prohibited.

Governor Wolf Extends School Closure for Remainder of Academic Year: On June 3, Administration Outlined Preliminary Guidance for Phased Reopening of Schools. PA Departments of Education and Health are providing recommendations to Pre-K to 12 schools for use when making decisions related to the instructional models used during the 2020-21 school year. On November 23, Governor required Pre-K to 12 public schools in counties that have been in the substantial transmission level for at least two consecutive weeks to commit to safety measures to ensure the safety and well-being of students and educators.

Pennsylvania does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place. However, beginning August 23, 2021, all state employees and contracted staff must wear face coverings indoors regardless of their vaccination status. Masks remain optional for visitors to state office buildings.

On June 28, 2021, Pennsylvania lifted its statewide mask requirement for vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island is currently in a state of emergency due to COVID and will be in such a state until October 2, 2021.

Rhode Island now permits travel from a location within the United States (US) or US territories without first quarantining or COVID-19 testing upon an individual's arrival whether or not the individual traveling is vaccinated.

In Rhode Island, there are no mass gathering restrictions.

In Rhode Island, every district except Providence and Central Falls met the five metrics needed to fully reopen with all students on September 14.

Rhode Island no longer has a statewide mask mandate for vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals alike.

On August 18, 2021, Gov. McKee mandated that all healthcare workers in Rhode Island must show proof of vaccination against COVID-19 or undergo COVID-19 testing twice per week (and wear a mask) starting October 1, 2021.

South Carolina

South Carolina is NOT in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19; the State allowed all previous State of Emergency declarations expire on June 7, 2021.

All travel restrictions have been rescinded.

EO 2021-12, of March 5, 2021, "encourages" venues to follow guidelines such as a 50% capacity limit. But this is not a requirement or mandate.

All schools to remain closed through the month of April.

South Carolina no longer requires face coverings in restaurants or state-owned buildings; residents are encouraged, but not mandated to wear masks in public. Further, the Governor of South Carolina issued an executive order prohibiting local governments from using the South Carolina emergency declaration as a basis for local mask mandates.

South Carolina prohibits any agency, department, official, employee of South Carolina, or any political subdivision of South Carolina from requiring proof of vaccination against COVID-19 (otherwise known as a "vaccine passport").

South Dakota

South Dakota has declared a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and will be in such a state until June 30, 2021.

South Dakota has never placed any COVID-related restrictions on travel to or from other states or within the state.

Currently, gatherings of any size are permitted in South Dakota, as long as social distancing is practiced (a number of social distancing and hygiene-related recommendations for individual's in South Dakota's "Back to Normal Plan").

South Dakota has instituted a "Back to Normal Plan," which provides for remote learning in K-12 schools until the end of 2020 with a limited return to in-person education by the end of 2020-2021 school year.

South Dakota never issued a state-wide mask mandate.

South Dakota prohibits state agencies, state boards, state departments, all other executive branch entities, any other department of the state government, and any other political subdivision of South Dakota from requiring an individual from presenting proof of vaccination to enter government premises, do business with the government, or any other manner of transaction with the government. Further, those same prohibited entites may not require any business transacting with the government from requiring its employees to obtain vaccination against COVID-19. However, the above rules do not apply to nursing homes, assisted living facilities, or any long-term care facility.

Tennessee

On September 30, 2021 Governor Bill Lee extended the Covid-19 state of emergency through November 5.

On August 6, 2021, Governor Bill Lee declared and recognized a continuing state of emergency to allow increased flexibility for out-of-state doctors, retired doctors, and practical nurse graduates to practice and to increase regulatory flexibility to allow other health care professionals to practice.

The Tennessee Pledge business guidelines issued at the start of COVID-19 have been officially retired as of Apr. 27, 2021.

Tennessee does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On April 29, 2021, Executive Order 80 went into effect. The order ends county mayors’ authority in 89 counties to require masks.

Tennessee prohibits a state or local governmental official, entity, department, or agency from mandating a private business require proof of vaccination against COVID-19 as a condition of entering the premises of the business or utilizing services provided by the business.

Texas

On September 28, 2021, Governor Abbott extended the state's Covid-19 disaster declaration.

Air travel restrictions were lifted on May 21.

Effective March 10, 2021, all operating and occupancy restrictions are lifted.

For the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year, public schools may resume operations for the summer as provided by, and under the minimum standard health protocols found in, guidance issued by the Texas Education Agency (TEA)

Texas does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On March 10, 2021 the requirement to wear masks in all public spaces was lifted.

On May 18, 2021, Governor Abbott signed an executive order that prohibits government entities, including counties, cities, and school districts, from implementing mask mandates.

Texas prohibits any entity from requiring any individual to provide proof of vaccination against Covid-19.

Utah

Currently, Utah is no longer under a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Establishing a Requirement for Individuals Entering Utah to Complete a Travel Declaration Form with Certain Exceptions

After a previous order expired on Nov. 24, 2020, there are no limits on gathering sizes in Utah, but event organizers must abide by certain safety protocols.

An event host of a social gathering shall complete and implement the Event Management Template provided by the Department and require each individual attending the social gathering to wear a face mask.

Local education agencies (school districts and charter schools also known as LEAs) are required to develop local plans for safely reopening schools for in-person instruction in the fall of 2020. Reopening anticipated for the 2020-2021 school year, including sporting events, activities, and in-person graduations, with increased cleaning and hygiene regimen

Utah does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

Utah's mask mandate expired on April 10, 2021. As of May 15, face coverings are not required in schools, gatherings larger than 50 people, and state government buildings. Local governments may seek their own mask mandates.

Vermont

Vermont is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

Any person traveling into Vermont for a non-essential purpose must immediately self-quarantine for 14 days, except for visitors from certain counties in ME, RI, MA, NH, CT and NY with low infection rates. Visitors are instructed not to travel to Vermont from hot spots or if they are displaying symptoms of COVID-19. Further, beginning February 23, 2021, fully vaccinated residents who travel to another state will no longer need to quarantine when returning to Vermont. Fully vaccinated residents will receive cards that they can display upon request when traveling in or out of the state. Fully vaccinated out-of-state travelers will not need to quarantine if they can provide proof of vaccination.

Out-of-state travelers no longer need a negative COVID-19 test within three days of arriving in Vermont.

In Vermont, there are currently not any restrictions on mass gatherings.

For the 2020-21 school year, all public schools and independent schools are open for in person or remote classroom instruction since Tuesday, September 8, 2020. Further, no student or parent may be penalized for student absences that are the result of following medical advice or the guidance of VDH or to address concerns of parents or guardians in response to COVID-19.

Vermont does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On September 8, 2021, Gov. Scott announced that all Vermont state employees will be required to show proof of COVID-19 vaccination or undergo weekly COVID-19 testing starting September 15, 2021.

Virginia

Virginia is presently in a State of Emergency as declared by Governor Northam.

Virginia has no travel restrictions in place due to COVID-19.

In Virginia, there are no mass gatherings restrictions or prohibitions.

In-person K-12 education was initially prohibited in March 2020; however, on July 6, 2020, Governor Northam ordered a phased reopening of K-12 schools.

Further, colleges, universities, and community colleges must comply with the Phased reopening places ("Guidelines for All Business Sectors" in all iterations).

On Jan. 14, 2021, the Virginia Department of Education released new guidance encouraging schools to prioritize in-person learning, especially for younger students and those with disabilities.

On Feb. 5, Gov. Northam requested that schools provide in-person learning options for students by March 15. Northam said schools could look to the Virginia Department of Health and the Virginia Department of Education’s updated reopening guidance released on Jan. 15 as they prepare to return students to the classroom. Although the request is not a mandate, Northam said he expected schools to comply.

Virginia does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

In Virginia, all individuals "aged five and older should cover their mouth and nose with a face covering, as described and recommended by the CDC, if they are in an indoor setting shared by others." This restriction applies to a number of open-air establishments; however, it does not apply in a religious context nor does it apply to persons inside their personal residence.

Nevertheless, Virginia no longer requires individuals to wear masks while outdoors in small groups (fewer than 10 people); yet, individuals who are fully vaccinated are exempt from this mask mandate.

Finally, as of August 12, 2021, Virginia requires all persons on K-12 school facilities to wear a face covering.

On August 5, 2021, Gov. Ralph Northan mandated that all state employees in Virginia show proof of COVID-19 vaccination or undergo weekly COVID-19 testing starting September 1, 2021.

Washington

Washington is no longer in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19.

14-day quarantine requirement for anyone returning to Washington state after visiting the United Kingdom, South Africa and other countries where a new variant of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, 501Y.V, has been circulating.

Currently, there are no mass gatherings restrictions in Washington.

Updated school guidance for in-person instruction. The Department of Health suggests three categories for re-introducing in-person learning: For schools in counties where COVID-19 cases are “low” (less than 50 residents per 100,000), in-person learning should be made available for all students. In counties where COVID-19 cases are “moderate” (between 50 and 350 residents per 100,000), in-person learning should be phased in, starting with elementary students not already attending in person and middle school students, followed by high school students. Finally, in counties where COVID-19 cases are “high” (over 350 per 100,000 residents), it’s recommended that schools should only offer in-person instruction for elementary and high-need students in small groups of 15 students or fewer. These rules apply to any public, private, or charter school that provides education at any grade level from Kindergarten through Twelfth grade.

Washington currently has an indoor mask mandate in place for both vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals. Starting September 13, masks are required in outdoor events with 500 or more attendees.

In addition, local governments, businesses, and nonprofit entities are prohibited from banning mask requirements or proof-of-vaccination requirements.

Governor Inslee ordered most state workers and health care employees to be fully vaccinated by Oct. 18 or lose their jobs. On September 3, 2021, Gov. Inslee prohibited local government agencies, agency officials, and landlords from requiring masking requirements or proof-of-COVID-19 vaccination requirements.

West Virginia

West Virginia is in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19, and it shall be in such a state until the Governor of West Virginia orders otherwise.

Requires individuals who are travelling from areas with substantial community spread of COVlD-19, including without limitation Louisiana, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Italy, and China, are required to isolate for two weeks prior to entering the state. (EO 39 20 repealed this order. )

Effective April 19, 2021, the public gathering limit has been removed.

Executive Order 78-20, issued November 13, 2020, requires private and public schools to limit in person instruction.

West Virginia does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

On June 18, 2021, Governor Jim Justice signed Executive Order 20-21 which ended the indoor face covering requirement effective June 20, 2021.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin is not currently in a State of Emergency due to COVID-19. Most recently, the Wisconsin Governor declared a continued State of Emergency due to COVID-19 on February 4, 2021 (for 60 days); however, the Wisconsin Supreme Court declared that the Governor's acts were unconstitutional within the meaning of the Wisconsin State Constitution. Specifically, according to the Wisconsin Constitution, any Public Health focused State of Emergency that exceeds 60 days in length must be supported by a joint declaration of the State Legislature, and that declaration may not be made solely by the Wisconsin Governor. Thus, the Wisconsin Supreme Court struck down Executive Order 105, the most recent State of Emergency declaration.

Since Emergency Order #3 expired on Nov. 6, 2020, residents are strongly encouraged, but not required, to avoid gatherings with anyone outside of their household and follow physical distancing.

Emergency Order #28, effective April 23, 2020, orders the closure of K-12 schools for the remainder of the 2020-21 academic year.

Wisconsin does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court ruled on Mar. 31, 2021, that the governor overstepped his authority when he declared several states of emergency since the start of the pandemic without input from the legislature. The ruling invalidates the current emergency order, which includes a statewide mask mandate.

Local mask mandates remain in place.

Previously, on February 4, 2021, the State Assembly passed a resolution to end the public health emergency and mask mandate. Governor Evers immediately issued Executive Order #105, proclaiming a new state of emergency and reinstituting the mask mandate.

The Wisconsin Department of Administration determined that all executive branch employees, interns, and contractors must get a COVID-19 vaccine or submit to weekly COVID-19 testing starting Oct. 18.

Wyoming

Wyoming has declared a State of Emergency and a Public Health Emergency and still is in a state of emergency.

There are no travel restrictions in Wyoming for U.S. travelers. Until May 8, 2020, Wyoming required individual coming to Wyoming from another state or country for a non-work-related purpose to immediately self-quarantine for 14 days.

Effective Mar. 16, 2021, Wyoming removes of limitations on personal gatherings and outdoor events.

In Wyoming, K-12 schools, colleges, universities, and trade schools may operate provided they abide by a number of social distancing and hygiene guidelines, including but not limited to: a maximum of 50 persons may be in any room, up to 250 persons may be allowed in rooms where 6 feet separation between individuals can be maintained, and face coverings are generally required for students and school staff where a 6 feet distance cannot be maintained.

Wyoming does not currently have a statewide mask mandate in place.