2024 Legislative Session Dates
image/svg+xml Skip to main content
Search image/svg+xml

2022 State Legislative Partisan Control

  • Only two states held legislative elections in 2021. In New Jersey, all 40 state senate seats and 80 assembly seats were up for election, while only the 100 house seats were up in Virginia.
  • Republicans were able to flip one legislative chamber. While both chambers of  New Jersey’s legislature remained under Democratic control after the election, Virginia’s House flipped from Democratic control to Republican.
  • In 2022, there will be three split legislatures (that is, one chamber controlled by each party) — in Alaska, Minnesota, Virginia. Alaska’s House is controlled by a Democrat-Republican coalition.
  • Democrats will control the legislatures in 17 states, while Republicans will control the legislatures in 30 states.